Calmness, Kindness, Silence: Worldly Wisdom Means Nothing


Most people mistake calmness for acceptance, kindness for weakness and silence for ignorance.

Let’s just say that I wanted to respond to something that was said to me but something told me not to. Something told me to keep schtum.
Something; someONE – God, spoke to me and told me to be quiet.

I wanted to say something but I wouldn’t; I couldn’t.
I wouldn’t because I didn’t see how responding with a sharp tongued comment would help anything. I couldn’t allow myself to say anything stupid and give in to temptation because I know that my haste would achieve nothing but strife. Besides, God had spoken.

Psalm 37:8 – Refrain from anger and turn from wrath; do not fret – it leads only to evil.Proverbs 29:11 (ESV) – A fool gives full vent to his spirit, but a wise man quietly holds it back.

Haste is the devil’s trap. Haste; rashness, can cause us to say and do things we regret. Haste can even be the result of impatience; a lack of trust in the Lord.
Let Him lead you in the way that you should go!

Most people mistake calmness for acceptance, kindness for weakness and silence for ignorance.
This is worldly wisdom and we all know how that fares against God’s wisdom.

In regards to calmness, everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry (James 1:19). Are wise decisions usually made in haste?
Just because I choose not to cry about it or say something in response does it mean that I accept it?
Calmness doesn’t mean we accept. It simply means that we are acting in faith. We are acting knowing that God will and God is.
*In regards to kindness, well, God is kind. That act of sacrifice; that giving of life is nothing that weak illustrates. It is the total opposite.
We are also told in Galatians 5:22 that the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness…
Silence? Well, when we are silent, still, we hear God.
Silence is an act of wisdom: If only you would be altogether silent! For you, that would be wisdom (Job 13:5). Even fools are thought wise if they keep silent,and discerning if they hold their tongues (Proverbs 17:28).

Whilst most people will mistake calmness for acceptance, kindness for weakness and silence for ignorance, I know what the good Lord has said; I know the example that I am to follow and keep.
Calmness, kindness and silence are promoted. These three attributes help us grow in our day to day; our spiritual lives.
Who cares if the world wants to view my (ever growing through Christ) display of calmness, kindness and silence for acceptance, weakness and ignorance?
Worldly wisdom means nothing.

And again, haste is the devil’s trap. Haste; rashness, can cause us to say and do things we regret. Haste can even be the result of impatience; a lack of trust in the Lord.
Let Him lead you in the way that you should go! 
Even though it sometimes seems easier to give in and let it all out; think back to God and all He has done.
Think back to Christ at calvary.
Think of the Holy Spirit within us because although we are in this world, we are not of this world.
Let the Lord lead us and let us remember that in regards to calmness, kindness and silence (all those things that are deemed good); worldly wisdom means nothing.

*All scripture is taken from the NIV unless otherwise stated.

 

@MissVenShaw

Share Your Thoughts...

