Give Me Only My Daily Bread


We live in a time where life is hard. We live in a time where everybody is out for themselves. We live in a time where it’s easier to worry than to turn to somebody for help. We become obsessed and fall into this mode of selfishness. I wouldn’t say I’m selfish or obsessed but if I don’t ask for help soon, I may well end up like this! I’m talking about money. I won’t lie, times are hard but I’m surviving. There are times though, when I find myself thinking and wishing I had more money and less stress. I know I can’t be the only one. Lord knows I am NOT the only one. But if I don’t turn to God with this situation, how can I expect a change? If I leave this situation to grow without the aid of God, I may do something that will dishonour His name. If I don’t lay it all out in prayer, I’m making it harder for myself because, how would I know what to do? I also know that God only gives us what we can handle, He is always on time and He gives us only what we need and NOT what we think we need.
Basically, I received a letter which was neither good or bad news (which in my head is bad) but I found myself on Google, trying to find scriptures or prayers to start myself on my prayer plan if you like… Well I came across something which spoke to me on a few levels and long story short, I, like this writer, tend to hide behind “I’m fine” in most situations. No, I’m not fine. Yes, I would rather go to bed and daydream my life away until I’m ready to do something about the situation. But then I smile because, after all, my best is in His hands and my success is most certainly in His plans so why would I not turn to Him? These are times where it’s easy to give in to this hard life and the ways of the world. These are times where we can become like the world and get so caught up that we can forget to call on God. These are times where we choose to be anxious and worry instead of falling down to our knees and laying it all down to God. It’s so easy to stress but it’s important for us to call on God no matter what. And when we’re in a state of worry and we’re weighed down, we should always try and remember this; Two things I ask of you, Lord;   do not refuse me before I die: Keep falsehood and lies far from me; give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say, ‘Who is the Lord?’ Or I may become poor and steal, and so dishonour the name of my God. Proverbs 30: 7-9

 
Remember that prayer is fundamental to our growth as Christians and that each situation can be overcome with His input. Let us remember that our daily bread is always enough so that we will neither forget or dishonour our God. Let us know that the deceiver makes the lies and falsehood seem like the better option and seem like the only possibility. Let us call on God for our daily bread, for strength and wisdom so that the deceptions entice us less than if we had not called on Him at all.
 
Image does not belong to @MissVenShaw.
Share Your Thoughts...

